HomeRatesTerms & ConditionsRouteOnline ReservationsInformationTravel PlannerNewsContact

Board of Director Information                     866-308-4848
The Inter-Island Ferry Authority (IFA) was formed in 1997 to respond to the need for improved transportation to island communities in southern Southeast Alaska.  The Prince of Wales Communities of Craig, Klawock, Thorne Bay and Coffman Cove joined in a coalition with Wrangell and Petersburg to creat the IFA, which is a public corporation organized under Alaska's Municiple Port Authority Act.  Hydaburg joined the Board in 2010. Petersburg withdrew from the Board in 2012.

The IFA development plan included both the Hollis-Ketchikan (Southern Route) and Coffman Cove-Wrangell-Petersburg (Northern Route) passenger/vehicle ferry routes.   The IFA received support for both routes from the Alaska Department of Transportation in 1998.  Alaska's Congressional Delegation secured funding for the two planned IFA vessels.  The M/V Prince of Wales inaugruated daily scheduled round-trip servcie between Hollis and Ketchikan in January 2002.  A sister vessel, the M/V Stikine provided daily service, during  the summer seasons, between Coffman Cove, Wrangell and Petersburg from May of 2006 through September of 2008.  Budgetary concerns resulted in the suspension of the Northern Route until further notice so the M/V Stikine is the primary vessel running and the M/V Prince of Wales is used when the M/V Stikine is in dry dock.  

The IFA is governed by a Board of Directors who are appointed by the member communities. The seven member Board meets quarterly at the  main IFA office in Hollis with many Directors and members of the public tuning in via teleconference.  The Board members are appointed by their respective member community and serve a term of 4 years. To view the agenda for the next IFA Board of Directors meeting please click the link listed below.
History and Governance

Scheduled Board of Director Meetings:
The next Board of Director Meeting will be Thursday March 15, 2018 at 10:00AM, 
and you will be able to click here to view agenda when available.

The meeting will be held at Craig City Hall and by Teleconference. 
Call 907-826-4848 for call-in information.  

See MINUTES of September 25, 2017 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of June 21, 2017 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of March 29, 2017 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of December 13, 2016 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of October 25, 2016 Regular Meeting

See  MINUTES of June 16, 2016 Special Meeting

See MINUTES of April 21, 2016 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of December 9, 2015 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of October 30, 2015 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of August 6, 2015 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of June 15, 2015 Special Meeting w/Executive Session

See MINUTES of April 20, 2015 Special Meeting

See MINUTES of January 6, 2015 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of September 22, 2014 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of September 2, 2014 Special Meeting

See MINUTES of June 19, 2014 Special Meeting

See MINUTES of April 29, 2014 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of February 25, 2014 Special Meeting

See MINUTES of February 11, 2014 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of February 11, 2014 Emergency Meeting

See MINUTES of November 12, 2013 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of November 12, 2013 Special Meeting

See MINUTES of October 14, 2013 Emergency Meeting

See MINUTES of August 28, 2013 Emergency Meeting

See MINUTES of July 30, 2013 Regular Meeting

See MINUTES of June 11, 2013 Special Meeting

See MINUTES of May 2, 2013 Meeting

See MINUTES of February 12, 2013 Special Meeting

See MINUTES of January 24, 2013 Meeting

See MINUTES of November 19, 2012 Meeting

See MINUTES of August 14, 2012 Special Meeting

See MINUTES of July 16, 2012 Meeting

See MINUTES of June 28, 2012 Emergency Meeting

See MINUTES of May 1, 2012 Special Meeting

See MINUTES of April 17, 2012 Meeting

See MINUTES of January 27, 2012 Meeting

See MINUTES of January 13, 2012 Meeting

See MINUTES of December 20, 2011 Meeting

See MINUTES of October 26, 2011 Meeting

See MINUTES of July 27, 2011 Meeting

          Harvey McDonald; Chair hmcdonald@interislandferry.com
          Jeff Nickerson; Vice Chair jnickerson@interislandferry.com
          D J Otis Gibbons; Treasurer/Secretary ogibbons@interislandferry.com 
          Patty Gilbert; Director  pgilbert@interislandferry.com
          Anthony Christianson; Director achristianson@interislandferry.com                     
          Adelia (DeeDee) Jeffreys; Director ddjeffreys@interislandferry.com
          Brian Wilson; Director bwilson@interislandferry.com

See current BYLAWS of the Inter-Island Ferry Authority Board of Directors